top of page

“ Oh frog, have you ever seen the sea ”

Katelyn Wang '23



EMPRYEAN ABYSS, NICOLE ELLSWORTH '21



Oh frog, have you ever seen the sea

Katelyn Wang '23



“I’ve lived comfortably in my well for my whole life......I don’t wish to see the sea”

--From Chinese fable: “The Frog at the Bottom of the Well”



Live aloof of our detainment,

Crowded under your arrogant border,

Pretty insiders, put on my pain.


Label us sick, shaky, unsound, insipid,

Disincline to expose yourself to our sorrow places,

Pretty insiders, put on my pain.


Hoard your clever words and dainty headlines,

Too fancy to wear with

Our crackled shoes.


I have never been outside of my well”


Choking yourself within the cloaked walls


“The rest of the world doesn’t matter to me”


Dulling the drown below the dense waters


Make believe that you are living enough,

Wrung within the walls of your well.

Pretty insider, so ignorant.


Comments


bottom of page